Vegan Chana Masala

img_6454

You’d never know it from my 2017 blog post this year, but I’ve been trying to eat a little bit less meat this year and have more fish and vegetarian based meals. One step towards that was raiding my vegan friend cookbooks, which is how I ended up making this! For some reason, whenever I cook something vegan it tends to be a curry or spiced dish. What I liked about this dish is that it was made up from mainly store cupboard ingredients, and so it’s pretty easy to whip up with minimal shopping efforts.

I’m always struggling to think of good lunch dishes for work, so I thought I’d make this during a Sunday batch bake. I decided to layer it up with some rice and fresh spinach ready to pop in the microwave and voila, I ended up with one of those homemade healthy curry pots you buy in the shops! Pretty sweet huh?

This is supposed to serve 4 but I found it only really made enough for 2-3 portions, but maybe that’s just me being greedy. I’ll let you decide!

Enjoy!

img_6455

Ingredients

  • 2tbsp oil of your choice (I used coconut oil)
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 1 chilli, finely chopped (deseeded, depending on your spice tolerance)
  • 2 clove of garlic, finely chopped or grated
  • 1 thumb sized piece of ginger, finely chopped or grated (or 1 tbsp ginger paste)
  • 1 tsp garam masala
  • 1/2 tsp ground turmeric
  • 1/4 tsp brown sugar
  • 400g can chopped tomatoes
  • 400g can chickpeas, drained
  • 300ml coconut milk (reduced fat)
  • 30g fresh coriander, chopped
  • salt and pepper

How to make it…

  1. Fry the onions, garlic, ginger and chilli in a medium-sized, deep saucepan for around 5 minutes, until they start to soften.
  2. Add the garam masala, turmeric and a pinch of sugar and fry for another minute or so, before adding the canned tomatoes, the remaining sugar and a little seasoning. Stir and leave to simmer for around 20 minutes.
  3. Next, add the chickpeas and half the coconut milk. Leave to simmer for another 10 minutes, and then add the remaining coconut milk. Stir half of the coriander through and save the other half to sprinkle over the top.
  4. If you’re having this as a homemade microwavable ready meal lunch, leave to cool and layer it up with rice and fresh spinach. Enjoy!

Adapted from  Áine Carlin’s Keep it Vegan: 100 simple, healthy & delicious dishes, on Page 47-48 ‘Chana Masala’

One comment

Leave a Reply

