Salmon Roasted in Honey, Soy, Orange and Chilli


We’re trying to eat more fish at the moment, and I have to say that a healthy fish meal feels so much lighter on the belly than something meaty. Growing up, I was never a big fan of fish so I’ve never traditionally cooked a lot of fish. This means that a whole area of cuisine has opened up to me and I’m enjoying the ride so far!

I love love love this way of cooking salmon. Although I’m only posting it now, I actually first tried this at the end of last year and have lost count of how often I’ve cooked it since. The first time I cooked this, I was heading out that evening and left some to be eaten. I got the following message a few hours later: ‘This is by some way the best salmon I’ve ever had’. His words not mine! So we’re setting the bar pretty high here.

The best part is that this is soo easy to make, prep time is absolutely maximum 10 minutes and other than marinating time and 30 minutes in the oven, you’re sorted. This would go well with most things, but I usually cook it with quinoa and spinach (as pictured). While it still makes a filling meal, it’s really light and so it’s something I’ll often opt to eat when I’m exercising that night. There’s enough to serve 2 here, so just double up if you want to make more. Trust me, you have to try this.

Ingredients (To serve 2)

  • 2 salmon fillets
  • 25ml soy sauce
  • 1 clove of garlic, finely chopped or grated
  • 1 red chilli, finely chopped (and deseeded if you want to lower the heat)
  • 1cm ginger, peeled and grated
  • 25g coriander, finely chopped (plus a few extra leaves, to serve)
  • Finely grated zest of 1 orange
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 2 spring onions, finely sliced
  • Lime wedges, to serve

How to make it…

  1. Preheat the oven to 200C/ Gas Mark 6. Line a baking tray with foil, and place the salmon on it with the skin-side down.
  2. In a bowl, mix the soy sauce, garlic, half the chilli, ginger, coriander and orange zest together. Pour over the salmon, wrap in clingfilm and leave to marinade in the fridge for at least 30 minutes.
  3. Remove the clingfilm, and bake in the oven for 20 minutes. Then remove from the oven, spoon over the honey and bake for a further 10 minutes.
  4. Leave to rest for 5 minutes, then use a fork to flake the salmon. Decorate with the spring onions, chillies and any remaining coriander leaves, and serve with the lime wedges.
  5. Enjoy!

Adapted from ‘Roasted salmon with soy, orange and chilli’ from the Waitrose Weekend Newspaper

3 comments

Leave a Reply

