Sri Lankan Spicy Chicken Wings

img_4552

Looking for an easy win for entertaining a large group of friends or as a cheeky little starter? Something that’s super quick to prepare? Easy to batch cook? Full of flavour? No complicated ingredients list? Love chicken wings? This ticks all the boxes if that sounds like your cup of tea.

I found this recipe while browsing one of the blogs I follow, Island Smile, who has some cracking Sri Lankan recipes. I’ve mainly stuck to her recommendations, but also added a bit of soy sauce as this works well in a Goan chilli chicken recipe I make and adjusted some of the measures. Now I don’t know about you, but when it comes to recipe inspiration there’s two groups for me: stuff you really like the look of and something that instantly makes you think of a friend or family member who would love it. For me, it was the latter with this one: I knew this was one for my boyfriend. What I love about cooking for other people is that you sometimes end up with a recipe in your repertoire that you would otherwise never have tried, and I think this is one of those! Friends reading this, expect to see this one out on the table in future.

So the low down on these chicken wings. There’s pretty much no marinading process, so it really is very quick. It’s a chuck everything in the pan sort of dish, so it’s pretty easy – I managed to rustle this up at the same time as baking some pretty epic Baklava that I’ll be posting on here shortly. Hopefully the ingredients are fairly accessible: I already had all the ingredients except the actual chicken wings in the house.  A word of warning: because you’re pan-frying this, you just need to be careful that you’re thoroughly cooking this through. You’ll need to press the different parts of the wings down to make sure no bits get missed. I have a pretty small frying pan so I made this in two batches, but if you’ve got a large wok you might be fine. And finally, if you’re having this as a starter, I’d recommend 2-3 wings each. As a main, 3-5 would be about right.

Ingredients

  • 800g chicken wings (this gave me 15 wings)
  • 1 tbsp oil of your choice (I used coconut oil)
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 2 tbsp ginger paste
  • 2 red onions, sliced into rings
  • 3 tomatoes, finely chopped (or 2 large handfuls of cherry tomatoes, finely chopped)
  • 2-3 green chillies, finely chopped (adjust to your spice tolerance)
  • 5 tbsp tomato ketchup
  • sprig of coriander, to serve (optional)

How to make it

1. Start by mixing the turmeric and the salt in with the chicken wings. Next, heat the oil in a large frying pan, and fry the chicken on a medium heat until each side has started to turn a golden brown. You may need to press parts of the chicken down with a wooden spoon to ensure each part gets cooked thoroughly. If you don’t have a large frying pan, simply do this in two batches.

2. When the chicken is nearing readiness (about 5-8 minutes), add the ginger paste, red onions, chopped tomatoes and chillies. Fry for a further 5 minutes, or until the onions and tomatoes start to soften.

3. Finally, add the tomato ketchup and stir so the chicken is evenly coated in sauce. Cook for a further 2-3 minutes and serve.

4. Enjoy! πŸ™‚

img_4553

3 comments

Leave a Reply

