Pick-Me-Up Green Smoothie


I’ve been trying to be extra mindful of my digestive health recently, and was looking for something that was a fresh pick me up in the hot weather, packed with nutrients and good for the gut. With this as my brief, I improvised the following green smoothie.

The rationale for the ginger was it being good for digestive health, but also for the sharp, fresh hit that you need to energise you first thing in the morning or later in the day when you’re working a late at work (I can vouch for both!). The turmeric is optional: at 1/2 tsp you can’t taste it, but I’ve added that in for it’s famous anti-inflammatory properties. This is good for digestive health but also for general aches and pains in the body which we’re all susceptible to if we spend a lot of time behind desks at work! I’ve found almonds to be particularly soothing when I’ve had an unhappy stomach, and almond milk also gives a lovely creamy and thick texture to the smoothie. If you prefer not to use this though, please go ahead and use a smaller proportion of water. Kale? It’s a no-brainer and gives the smoothie that beautiful green glow. And the rest is just packing in as many fresh tasting fruits as possible!

As always, I’ve opted for using some frozen fruit to make the smoothie nice and cold to drink. I recently bought a big bunch of bananas and ended up chopping a load of them up and popping them in little bags in the freezer. This way, you can easily add a portion of frozen banana to a smoothie with no fuss.

This makes enough for 1 large portion and 2 smaller glasses. It will keep in the fridge for a day.

Ingredients

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 2 kiwis
  • 1 apple, cored
  • 1 pear, cored
  • large handful of kale/ spinach
  • 1cm piece ginger
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric

How to make it…

Mix it all up in a juicer and enjoy! 🙂

10 comments

  1. Despite my reservations about the clean eating movement I actually quite like an occasional green smoothie – my kids call it kermit juice. V similar to yours with half an avocado for creaminess and a squeeze of lime.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

