Panfried Sea Bass with Asparagus and Blanched Spinach – A 15 Minute Wonder

Summer seems to have finally arrived in the UK (before it started raining again), so it’s time for lovely, light and fresh summer meals! The month of May also means that it’s British asparagus season. When I first started writing this blog I lived in Bromley and one of my little joys at the end of the week was walking through the market on the high street on a Friday afternoon. I definitely went a bit crazy for the seasonal asparagus from the market last year, there’s nothing like fresh, cheap and local veg! Living much more centrally in London now means I can still experience the joys of asparagus season, but everything of course has a higher price tag!

So the origins of this dish. I wanted something with asparagus (I’ll stop going on about it now), I wanted something light (it was still really hot and sunny when I first made this on Sunday!) and something healthy. I browsed a load of cookbooks and websites but didn’t find anything that really took my fancy, so I’ve improvised with this one! I’ve also learnt over the years that you can never go wrong with a bit of cumin to lightly flavour a meal (credit to Jamie on getting me to apply this to fish though!) and I have always believed feta and spinach to be a magical combination we have to be thankful to the Greeks and Turkish for. I’ve calculated the vegetable portions so that you’ve got at least one of your 5 a day in both the spinach and the asparagus.

The real selling point of this dish is that it’s so simple and will take you 10, absolutely maximum 15 minutes from start to finish. And that’s not a Jamie’s ’15 minute meals’ kind of promise where you need every appliance under the sun to make that happen. Once you’ve sprinkled your spices on the fish, you can put everything on pretty much at once and it’ll all be cooked within 6 minutes. Viola!

And if I may go against the English grain: it’s a pretty good dish visually as well, if I say so myself! What more can you ask for in a meal? There’s enough for 2 servings here, and you are of course welcome to bulk it out with some carbs – potatoes or quinoa would go nicely!

Ingredients

  • 2 pieces of sea bass
  • 2 tsp cumin seeds
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 lemon
  • oil of your choice (I used coconut oil, olive oil would also work well)
  • 10 asparagus stalks, ends trimmed
  • 160g spinach (or more, if you fancy!)
  • Around 50g feta cheese, crumbled

How to make it…

1. Lay out your sea bass and sprinkle the cumin seeds, salt and pepper over both sides of each piece of fish. Pour over a little of the lemon juice.

2. Heat the oil in a frying pan, and then fry the sea bass for around 3 minutes on each side. At the same time, boil or steam your asparagus also for around 6 minutes.

3. When the sea bass and asparagus have both been on for 3 minutes, blanch the spinach with a little water for 3 minutes.

Cooking for one!

4. Drain the asparagus and the spinach, place on the bottom of your plates and sprinkle over the feta cheese. Lay the seabass over the top and pour the remaining lemon juice over the top.

5. Enjoy!

9 comments

  1. […] You might’ve noticed that a lot of my recent posts have involved quick midweek meals. It’s been a really busy time so I’ve had to be more creative with fitting my new fortnightly recipe in, but even after 2 years and 5 months I’m not quite ready to give up my challenge! Actually, what’s great about fitting this blog around what’s happening in my life is the variety it provides me in my cooking. Sometimes I want to cook to impress, sometimes I have a Sunday afternoon to spend baking to my heart’s content, and sometimes there’s seemingly no time for anything and my priority is getting food in my belly ASAP! Today is about one of those, although I’ve yet to beat the 15 min wonder that is my Panfried Sea Bass with Asparagus and Blanched Spinach! […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

