Protein Loaf


I’ve been doing a lot of cooking recently and have lots of recipes to update you on! I don’t know if it’s the motivation that comes with the promise of starting the new year, still feeling rested after my time off, eating well or doing my daily 30 day Yoga Camp (I can’t recommend the free yoga on Yoga with Adriene enough), but I am feeling much more energetic than usual! So in the grand tradition of overdoing all of your goals in January, I’ll be trying to update you on the backlog of new recipes I’ve been accumulating.

It’s an interesting one today, another one of what has been a very successful Christmas gift of Jamie Oliver’s Everyday Super Food. I’ll be honest – I’m still not completely sure about how I feel about this one. It’s important to note that while it’s a loaf, it isn’t a bread. Now the pros of this are of course that it doesn’t require cumbersome kneading and rising time, making it really quick and easy to make. It’s also wheat-free, gluten-free and protein-rich, which makes it great for the gym bunnies. Probably it’s best feature is that it’s seriously filling. One slice of this at work to stave off those late morning hunger pangs, even without any toppings, can seriously delay your hunger with possible side effects of eating a late lunch. I’m not a big fan of cereal bars, so this is a good alternative to something like that. I’ve also had it for breakfast or lunch with spinach and eggs, which again was ridiculously filling and unintentionally protein-packed. Taste wise, the gram flour (chickpea flour) gives it quite an Indian flavour and the seeds give it a bit of texture. However, it doesn’t really have a distinctive taste and it’s very dense so it’s not the kind of thing you’d probably really crave! You’ll understand what I mean when I say it tastes very healthy.

You have two options here, you can bake it either with or without Marmite as part of the mixture. Me and my flatmate both wanted to try this bread so we each made a batch, one with and one without. Remember if you want it to be gluten-free, you’ll need to leave out the Marmite. We agreed that the standard batch tasted a lot more Indian, and the Marmite batch had a bit more of a distinctive taste and it particularly added to the crust.

 


All in all, I’d definitely make this again because it really does the job as a filling and healthy snack, but it’s never going to be quite as good as bread for me! At first glance the ingredients might feel a bit off-putting, but I was able to buy them all easily in my local supermarket (Sainsbury’s for me, but other supermarkets should be fine too) and you can buy a ‘mixed seeds’ bag rather than feeling like you need to buy lots of individual seeds. Once you have gram flour, you can also use this to make onion bhajis 🙂

Ingredients

  • 7g sachet of dried yeast
  • 4 tbsp olive oil
  • 250g gram flour
  • 100g ground almonds
  • 50g linseeds
  • 100g mixed seeds (e.g. poppy, sunflower, sesame, pumpkin)
  • 1 sprig fresh rosemary, or 1 tsp dried rosemary
  • 4 eggs
  • 3 tsp Marmite (optional)

How to make it…

1. Preheat the oven to 190ºC and line a 1.5 litre loaf tin. Next, mix the yeast and oil in with 375ml of lukewarm water, and leave to stand for 5 minutes.

2. Mix the gram flour, ground almonds, linseeds and mixed seeds in a mixing bowl with a pinch of salt. Make a well in the middle and crack in the eggs, before whisking the mixture together. Add the yeast mixture and continue to whisk until smooth. If adding the Marmite, add this now and mix well.img_3010

3. Pour your batter-like mixture into the loaf tin and bake for 45 minutes or until cooked through. Leave to cool on a wire rack.

4. Serve either fresh or toasted and enjoy!

Toasted!

From Everyday Super Food by Jamie Oliver, page 68 – ‘Super-Food Protein Loaf Wheat-Free, Gluten-Free and Tasty’

One comment

  1. This is the second protein loaf recipe I’ve ever seen! I love the side by side comparison photo. I’m curious to try it! I just starting doing yoga this year too, it’s surprisingly tough, but it’s SOO invigorating. Good luck with your new year goals!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

