Homemade Hummus

As promised in my previous post, here is the perfect companion to the Black Bean Feta Burger – hummus. Now this is something I’ve been meaning to make for years but never quite gotten round to doing. My new London home is in an area which is pretty much obsessed with food and you can’t go far without stumbling upon yet another great looking cafe, restaurant, pub or food stall. So I’ve got the inspiration back with my cooking too!

I can’t believe how easy this actually is to make, the rumours are true – it really is super easy. I’d say that the whole process probably took me about 3 minutes in total, given that I had all the ingredients to hand. Just a few important little pointers – do not skip out on the tahini. I know it’s not the kind of ingredient you use all the time, but considering you only use 4 tsp per big batch of hummus your jar of tahini is really going to last you. I’ve spoken to a few people this week about homemade hummus and overwhelmingly the response has been ‘I’ve tried it and it wasn’t that great, but I didn’t add tahini’. If you prefer to make it yourself, I understand you can just toast some sesame seeds and blitz it with some olive oil in a blender. Either way, don’t skip it!

This recipe is really a base recipe and you can easily improvise with this if you like different types of hummus. Taking inspiration from my favourite Moroccan variety, I ended up adding 1 tsp of cumin, 1/2 tsp of turmeric and some coriander leaves to another part of the batch to mix things up and it was great! Equally, lemon and coriander is another one of my favourite flavours which you could experiment with. Be creative and try things out! In the picture, I’ve sprinkled just a little paprika to make it look a bit nicer but this too is optional. Another point to be aware of is that I used a Nutribullet to make this and this was a real help in getting a smooth texture to my hummus. So if you have a good blender this will be a massive help. If not, embrace that rustic look! This recipe serves around 5-6 people as a starter, and so far has lasted a good 3-4 days when stored in sealable container in the fridge.

Ingredients

  • 2x 400g cans of chickpeas (keeping 7 tbsp of the liquid in which they are stored)
  • 4 tsp tahini
  • 1-2 garlic cloves, finely chopped or grated (depending on how garlicky you like things)
  • 4 tbsp olive oil
  • the juice of 1 lemon
  • Paprika to serve (optional)

How to make it…

  1. Add all the ingredients into a good quality blender and blend until smooth.
  2. That’s all you need to do! Sprinkle with a little paprika to serve if you like, or add any additional flavours.

Enjoy!

Adapted from Leyla Kazim on: http://www.jamieoliver.com/news-and-features/features/best-basic-houmous-recipe/#fV7sLFrZKigGW7ZC.99

6 comments

Leave a Reply

