The Good, The Bad and the Ugly

Hi all! Just a quick post to say that I haven’t forgotten about my Fortnightly Recipe resolution, but I’ve been away on holiday for a few weeks! Sadly there weren’t any cooking opportunities while I was away and with the exception of some pretty amazing Lobster Paella (I’m still looking for a decent recipe to try replicating this, but it’s probably a bit beyond the budget at the moment!) Cuba didn’t provide too much cooking inspiration. Don’t worry though, I’ll try to be extra dedicated with the recipes in the next few weeks and make up for my absence!

Since being back, I have actually tried a new recipe. On my first day back in London I had some amazing Indian food, which I’ve been craving ever since. So I thought I would try finding a good recipe for a Biriyani, which I thought would be a great dish to master. Unfortunately, I did not find that recipe and it was quite disappointing! Now I’m a bit of a perfectionist, but the blog is supposed to be about documenting my recipe experiments and so should really include not only the things that turned out well but acknowledge the ones that didn’t too! So here’s me challenging my inner perfectionist and embracing the good, the bad and the ugly.

image1 (1)

I found this recipe in Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall’s River Cottage Veg cookbook, which has provided me with some really good recipes but a few disappointing ones as well. Here, those lovely flavours didn’t really come through and the rice wasn’t quite the right texture. The silver lining – I’ve learned how amazing that little pinch of those expensive red flakes can be for making Saffron Rice.

In other news and more positive news, myimage2 poor shop bought herbs withered away and died in my absence so I’ve been having fun potting up some new herbs for my windowsill!

I’ve got a few ideas for recipes coming up, so I’ll be back soon with what I hope to be some more successful recipes!

Leave a Reply

