Jamaican Jerk Chicken!

Hi all, I’m back with something a little bit different today! Ever since I went to this great little Caribbean place in Soho, London called The Rum Kitchen a few weeks back, I’ve been craving Jerk Chicken! Not only was their Jerk Chicken super tasty, I would really rate the place for the general vibe and particularly for having a ceiling made of steel drums! While I don’t hope to compete with the experts, I thought I’d give it a go myself. Plus, I’m getting into the Caribbean vibe for my holiday next week!

I based this recipe on one I found on BBC Good Food, which is always a great place for recipe inspiration and always tends to have some kind of variation of recipes if you know specifically what you’re looking for! The beauty of this recipe is that if you have a good blender, whipping up a marinade really doesn’t take very long. So although you have to have enough foresight to do so the night before, it’s so so worth it for letting that gorgeous marinade sink in overnight and the next day all you need to do is chuck it in the oven! While I actually doubled on the the quantity of the marinade for the amount of chicken I was making because I quite like my food to be saucy, you can of course reduce this if you prefer to have the flavours without the sauce. I’ve made enough for 2-3 portions here, depending on whether you like 2 or 3 chicken thighs per portion! I find 2 is enough, which leaves plenty for leftovers.

You might notice that my marinade has quite a pink shade to it – I was worried I’d completely lost it and made a Thai Red Curry paste for a second! This is because as it happened, I used red onion but also predominantly red scotch bonnet chillies. Of course you can use white onions and green scotch bonnets instead if you prefer. Finally, I also made the rice that went with the original recipe. For me, it was actually a bit too creamy with the coconut milk and I probably wouldn’t make it again. However, I’ve posted the link at the end of this post so if you want to go ahead and try it please do! Serve this with either some veggies or some salad as well.

Ingredients

– 6 boneless chicken thighs

– 1 lime, quartered

Marinadeimage2 (5)

– bunch of spring onions, roughly chopped

– 3 scotch bonnet chillies, deseeded (unless you wanted it extra spicy!)

– 1 thumb-sized piece of ginger, roughly chopped

– 1/2 small onion, roughly chopped (unless your blender is strong enough to put it in whole)

– 3 garlic cloves

– 1 tsp dried thyme

– 1 tbsp ground allspice

– 3 tbsp brown sugar

– 1 tsp salt

– juice of 1 lime

– 2 tbsp soy sauce

– 2 tbsp vegetable oil

To Serve

Rice and veggies!

How to make it…

1. This stage needs to be completed the night before, where we are making the jerk marinade. To do so, you just need to put all your ingredients in a blender and blend until it looks fairly smooth. You won’t need to add any additional moisture, because the lime juice, soy sauce and vegetable oil will be enough to lubricate the mix. If you’re not happy with the taste, add a bit more sugar if it’s not sweet enough, a bit of lime for a bit more tanginess, more chillies if it’s not spicy enough or season with a bit more salt if required.image4 (3)

2. Rub the marinade into your chicken, using a knife to score some marks into the meat where you can make sure that you’re getting those flavours to soak deep into the flesh. Then store in some tuppaware in the fridge overnight.

3. The next day, preheat your oven to 180Β°C/Gas Mark 6. Put the marinated chicken into a foil lined baking tray with the lime quarters. Leave to slowly cook in the oven for around 50 minutes.

4. When serving the chicken, the lime should be lovely and soft to squeeze over it. Serve with rice, vegetables and some chilli sauce!

image1 (6)

image3 (4)

image5 (2)

Based on Jerk Chicken with Rice and Peas recipe on BBC Good Food

9 comments

    • Thank you! Really appreciate that as I’m very much an amateur at the photography side of things, but I’m learning a lot by looking at other blogs and I find natural light is what’s making the biggest difference now that we’re in summer time! Good luck with the new camera πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

