Creamy Green Mango, Spinach and Cashew Smoothie

I’ve been doing some more smoothie experimentation with my new blender! I made a delicious aubergine curry recently (not a new recipe so I’ve not posted it on here, although I’d be happy to if anyone likes the sound of it!) in which I use toasted cashew nuts and as I’d bought a big bag, I was wondering how to make the most of these little mineral and protein rich powerhouses. Like with my No Frills Smoothie I’m keen to avoid any processed ingredients like fruit juice here, but even though I’ve only used water as the liquid again the cashews give it a lovely creamy thick texture. I’ve been following Deliciously Ella, a really great healthy blog which can be especially useful for those with certain health conditions or a lot of food intolerances. This smoothie is inspired by one of hers, but in practice just involved me throwing things together using the 50:50 ratio of greens and fruit I learned from the Nutribullet guidance! I’ve got a pretty strong blender so my cashews were fine to go straight in, but Ella wisely recommends soaking cashews in water for a few hours or overnight to soften them if you don’t have a lot of faith in your blender.

I can be prone to iron deficiencies and so I try to make sure I get a decent amount of iron in my diet. This smoothie which contains both spinach and cashews is a really good way of boosting your iron levels. The banana, mango and cashew all provide a great slow release of energy as well so it’s perfect as something to keep you going for a few hours or as a healthy breakfast. If the inclusion of cashew nuts puts you off this recipe because nuts can be quite expensive, quick tip – Poundland and 99p shops in the UK often stock them.Β As before, I’m using frozen mango for economical reasons as well as to give it that nice instant chilled factor. This makes 1 large serving or 2 smaller glasses.

Ingredients:

– 2 cups fresh spinach

– 1 banana, roughly chopped (either fresh or frozen, I’ve used fresh)

– 1 cup frozen mango

– 1/4 cup cashew nuts

– 1 cup water (start with 1/2 cup if you prefer a thicker texture and then just add/blend to taste)

Then pop it in the blender and viola!

Inspired by and adapted fromΒ Deliciously Ella’s Mango and Cashew Smoothie

Leave a Reply

