Cod with Lemon, Spinach and Green Lentils

I’m back with a healthy one today! And it was a brave step for me because I’ve only really started eating fish and seafood in the last year or so. The reason I chose this recipe was because I liked the idea of  combining Asian inspired flavours with cod, a type of fish which I wouldn’t normally associate with that kind of cuisine. Plus it’s super healthy – 3 heaped tablespoons of green lentils count towards one of your five a day and are a great source of fibre. Couple that with a high protein, low fat fish and spinach… I don’t need to convince you about spinach – Popeye did that for us in childhood! Fun fact about me: when I was little, I used to flex by tiny biceps after every bite of spinach to see whether they had grown yet. Unfortunately I can’t promise you that kind of magic improvement in muscle definition but this definitely a healthy option! As it’s March, spinach is in season as well now so it should be at it’s best.

Now I’ve said I’m going to give an honest appraisal of all the recipes I’ve tried and despite how healthy it is, I would say it isn’t one of my favourites so far. Partly it needed a bit of tweaking, which I’ve accounted for in some the adaptations I’ve made to it. For me as well, I would have preferred something which brought more flavour to the actual fish – but that might just be where I’m still easing myself into eating fish and seafood! That said, I did enjoy my leftovers which had kept well a few days on. So maybe not one to impress your friends, but a solid healthy mid-weeker and good lunchtime leftovers. This makes enough for around 2-3 portions.

Ingredients

– 150g green lentilsimage1 (2)

– Olive oil

– 1 small red onion, finely chopped

– 2 garlic cloves

– 1 thumb of ginger, grated

– Handful of fresh coriander, finely chop the stalks and keep leaves whole

– 200ml can half-fat coconut milk

– 1/2 lemon, zest and juice

– 100g bag spinach

– 2 or 3 fillets of cod (one per person)

– 1 tsp mustard seeds

– 1 tsp cumin seeds

How to do it…

1. If you’re using dried green lentils, remember to soak them overnight first. Then rinse and boil in 600ml water for 20 minutes. Drain and leave to one side.

2. Warm some olive oil in a large frying pan and fry the onion for around 5 minutes, or until they start to soften. Then add the garlic, ginger and the stalks of the coriander for  a further 2-3 minutes. Add the lentils, coconut milk, lemon zest and 1 tbsp lemon juice. Keep stirring in the spinach until it has wilted, season and then leave to simmer at a low heat.

3. Preheat the grill to a high heat. Season the cod and grill on a sheet of foil for 10 minutes.

4. In a small pan, heat some olive oil and fry the mustard seeds and cumin seeds for 1-2 minutes on a low heat. Mix most of it through the lentils, leaving some to drizzle on the cod.  Squeeze the remaining lemon juice over the cod and add the coriander leaves to serve.

And it should come out looking something like this…

image2

Adapted from the February 2015 Waitrose Kitchen Magazine 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

